3 debutants in Cavan team to face the back-to-back All-Ireland champions

September 16, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

NEW CAVAN MANAGER Mattie McGleenan will hand debuts to three players in Sunday’s Allianz Football League tie against Dublin at Kingspan Breffni Park.

Fergal Reilly and Niall Clerkin will make their first starts for the county, while Gerard Smith, who featured off the bench in last summer’s Ulster quarter-final win over Armagh, also makes his league bow.

The clash against the reigning league and All-Ireland champions will be McGleenan’s first competitive game in inter-county management.

The former Scotstown boss has been boosted by the return from injury of goalkeeper Raymond Galligan and midfielder Gearoid McKiernan, who both make the bench.

There’s plenty of experience in the Cavan side, with Conor Moynagh, Killian Clarke, Dara McVeety and Seanie Johnston all named to start.


1. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)

2. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
3. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
4. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)

5. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
6. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
7. John McCutcheon (Cootehill Celtic)

8. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
9. Rory Dunne (Redhills)

10. Ciarán Brady (Arvagh)
11. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
12. Gerard Smith (Lavey)

13. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
14. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
15. Seanie Johnston (Cavan Gaels)


16. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
17. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
18. Stephen Murray (Cavan Gaels)
19. Shane O’Rourke (Laragh United)
20. Tomas Corr (Denn)
21. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
22. Conor Madden (Gowna)
23. Paul O’Connor (Cavan Gaels)
24. Niall McKiernan (Lacken)
25. Shane Tierney (Lavey)
26. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: armagh gaa jerseys