All-Ireland final hero Callanan inspires Munster to 15-point semi-final win over Ulster

September 19, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Munster 3-21
Ulster 0-15

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

ANTHONY DALY’S MUNSTER cruised into the GAA interprovincial hurling final with a facile 15-point victory over Ulster at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

A crowd estimated at 100 turned up in Thurles to watch captain Seamus Callanan lead the way in the scoring stakes, as Tipperary’s All-Ireland final man-of-the-match scored 1-7.

Mikey Breen’s first half goal helped to separate the sides at the break before Munster pulled away in the second period.

Callanan netted in the 40th minute following a defensive error before Waterford’s Bennett brothers combined for a goal in stoppage time, Shane providing Stephen for the finish.

Munster’s facile win sets up a final clash with Leinster – a fixture that is expected to go ahead under lights on Thursday evening at a venue to be confirmed, but expected to be Semple Stadium or O’Moore Park, Portlaoise.

Munster led by 1-10 to 0-7 at half-time, two Barry Nash points after his introduction opening up a six-point interval margin approaching the break.

Munster’s Barry Nash hit 0-4 today

Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

For much of the first half, it was Breen’s third-minute goal that effectively separated the teams as Ulster battled gamely.

They had a fine first half performance from Armagh’s Conor Corvan, a late call-up to the starting line-up who registered three points from play before the break.

But Munster, overall, had the more classy operators and had little difficulty in keeping their opponents at arm’s length.

Nice to play with my "little" cousin today @barrynash14

A post shared by Anthony Nash (@anthonynash6) on

Click Here: Mexico National Team soccer tracksuit

Callanan, operating at full-forward and captaining the Munster team, had four pointed frees in the first half, with Tipperary team-mate Breen adding a point to his early goal.

Aside from Corvan, Antrim’s Ciarán Clarke was another to show up well for Ulster in the first half, scoring three of his four points from placed balls.

Munster had little difficulty in the second half – outscoring Ulster by 2-11 to 0-8 to book their place in this week’s decider.

Munster manager Anthony Daly

Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Munster: Seamus Callanan 1-7 (0-6f), Michael Breen 1-1, Barry Nash 0-4, Stephen Bennett 1-0, John O’Dwyer 0-2, Diarmaid Byrnes, Tom Murnane, Shane Dowling, Pádraic Maher, David Reidy, Shane Bennett, Dan McCormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ulster: Ciarán Clarke 0-7 (0-6f), Conor Corvan 0-3, Conor O’Prey 0-2 (0-1f), Danny Cullen, Niall McKenna & Conor Woods 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Cork)

17. Barry Coughlan (Waterford)
3. James Barry (Tipperary)
4. Noel Connors (Waterford)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
6. Cian Dillon (Clare)
2. Shane Fives (Waterford)

20. Michael Breen (Tipperary)
9. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

10. Shane Dowling (Limerick)
25. Shane Bennett (Waterford)
22. Dan McCormack (Tipperary)

13. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
21. David Reidy (Clare)


27. Aaron Shanagher (Clare) for Dowling (25)
24. Barry Nash (Limerick) for Shane Bennett (25)
7. Tom Murnane (Kerry) for Barron (h.t.)
19. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary) for Fives (h.t.)
15. Stephen Bennett (Waterford) for McCormack (h.t.)
10. Shane Dowling (Limerick) for O’Dwyer (45)
25. Shane Bennett (Waterford) for Reidy (45)
22. Dan McCormack (Tipperary) for Breen (51)
2. Shane Fives (Waterford) for Coughlan (55)
9. Jamie Barron (Waterford) for Dillon (55)


1. Stephen Keith (Down)

15. Simon McCrory (Antrim)
2. Paddy Burke (Antrim)
12. John McManus (Down)

13. Neal McAuley (Antrim)
22. Conor Woods (Down)
20. Caolan Taggart (Down)

3. Eoghan Campbell (Antrim)
10. Ciarán Johnston (Antrim)

23. Conor Corvan (Armagh)
17. Niall McKenna (Antrim)
21. Danny Toner (Down)

11. Conor Johnston (Antrim)
8. John Dillon (Antrim)
4. Ciarán Clarke (Antrim)


18. Conor O’Prey (Down) for Ciarán Johnston (26)
6. Danny Cullen (Donegal) for Toner (33)
5. John Corvan (Armagh) for Taggart (46)
9. Alan Grant (Derry) for C Corvan (47)
24. Paddy Henry (Derry) for Conor Johnston (49)
16. Chrissy O’Connell (Antrim) for Keith (52)
7. Connor Devlin (Armagh) for Dillon (52)
19. Stephen Renaghan (Armagh) for Cullen (55)
10. Ciarán Johnston (Antrim) for J McManus (56)

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!