Do you agree with The42’s Gaelic Football 2016 Team of the Year?

September 19, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Clifford, Connolly and O’Connor make the cut.

Source: INPHO

ANOTHER YEAR OF Gaelic football completed and time to pick the best side from the players who starred in 2016.

The42′s GAA writers decided to do something a little different, a 2016 Gaelic Football Team of the Year that tries not to just focus on the senior championship in the summer and but also factor in minor, U21, the league and club action.

We hear a lot about how it’s no longer a 15-man game so in recognition of that, we’ve included six subs as well to make up a 21-man squad.

Do you agree with The42′s Gaelic Football Team of the Year?

Click Here: Italy soccer tracksuit

Of course you’ll have complaints, so that’s where the comments section comes in handy.

Do you agree with The42’s Gaelic Football 2016 Team of the Year?
1 / 21Next

  • 1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin – Parnells)
    Had a couple of shaky moments but ultimately Cluxton was still central to another year where Dublin claimed a clean sweep of Gaelic football titles.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • 2. Philip McMahon (Dublin – Ballymun Kickhams)
    Anchored the defence superbly for Dublin throughout 2016 and secured his second successive All-Star award. Was part of a Ballymun side who lost out to Leinster kingpins St Vincent’s in a Dublin semi-final.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • 3. Jonny Cooper (Dublin – Na Fianna)
    A player who elevated his game to new heights in 2016. It was Cooper who ensured Dublin continued to thrive in the absence of Rory O’Carroll.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • 4. Brendan Harrison (Mayo – Aghamore)
    A newcomer to the Mayo rearguard, Harrison enjoyed a breakout campaign in 2016. The level of defensive prowess he displayed in the All-Ireland finals was particularly striking.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • 5. Ryan McHugh (Donegal – Kilcar)
    Marvellous throughout the season for Donegal, McHugh was a constant force of energy. Netted a brace in the league opener against Down, a goal in their All-Ireland exit to Dublin and brought his club Kilcar to the Donegal county final. Source: Lorraine O’Sullivan/INPHO
  • 6. Lee Keegan (Mayo – Westport)
    The 2016 Footballer of the Year, a fourth All-Star in five years and the supplier of magical scores like that point against Tyrone and that goal against Dublin. Post-Mayo he went back to Westport and helped guide his club to an All-Ireland semi-final.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • 7. Patrick Durkan (Mayo – Castlebar Mitchels)
    A player who finished the season so strongly for Mayo, showcasing his blistering pace and adept point-taking. Either side of that he excelled as Castlebar Mitchels reached the All-Ireland final in March and won the Mayo decider in October.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • 8. Brian Fenton (Dublin – Raheny)
    The bar was set high for Fenton after his stunning 2015 campaign. He rose to that challenge in 2016, again tormenting opponents from midfield and picking up another three senior medals with Dublin.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • 9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone – Trillick)
    Central to three triumphs with Tyrone in 2016 and even in the one game they lost, Donnelly was brilliant against Mayo. His ball-carrying and point-kicking are exceptional. An All-Star two-in-a-row arrived in November.Source: Lorcan Doherty
  • 10. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo – Ballintubber)
    Cursed by injuries at times this year, O’Connor still hit full speed at vital times. The best player in the U21 championship as Mayo triumphed and was going strong in October as the senior team fell just short. A second Young Footballer of the Year award.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • 11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin – Castleknock)
    Half-back at stages with Dublin, midfield with Castleknock who contested a maiden county senior final but we’ve slotted him in at half-forward in recognition of a season where Kilkenny was one of the best exponents in the country.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • 12. Peter Harte (Tyrone – Errigal Ciaran)
    A player who continues to progress in leaps and bounds. Ripped Cavan apart, hit point of the year against Donegal, caused Mayo plenty stress and then of late has been in storming interprovincial form for Ulster.Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO
  • 13. David Clifford (Kerry – Fossa)
    There’s always caution when discussing promising minors but Clifford looks to be an awesome talent with a rich future. Hit 2-5 in St Brendan’s Hogan Cup final win and then 2-34 in six games for the Kerry minors, including THAT goal against Galway.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • 14. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin – St Vincent’s)
    Picked up five major medals – three with Dublin and two with St Vincent’s – in 2016 and Connolly was a shining light in all those wins. As captain, the club winter glories will hold a special place.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • 15. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary – Clonmel Commercials)
    The most influential player for Clonmel Commercials as they were pipped in February’s club semi-final, Quinlivan went on to have a terrific summer for Tipperary, switching seamlessly between midfield and full-forward roles.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • 16. Evan Comerford (Tipperary – Kilsheelan Kilcash)
    A major part of Tipperary’s wonderful championship journey, Comerford’s top quality kickouts mark him out a highly promising goalkeeper.Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • 17. Paul Geaney (Kerry – Dingle)
    Has become the go-to guy in the Kerry attack. Man-of-the-match in the Munster final, ransacked the Dublin defence for 1-4 and then helped his club Dingle run the eventual Munster kingpins Dr Crokes close in the county semi-final.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • 18. Peter Acheson (Tipperary – Moyle Rovers)
    Acheson provided a marvellous example of leadership throughout the season for Tipperary. Galway had no answer to him in the midfield battle in the quarter-final. His departure to Dubai is a major loss to the Premier.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • 19. Chrissy McKaigue (Derry – Slaughtneil)
    Part of a Derry team that went so close to defeating eventual All-Ireland semi-finalists Tipperary, McKaigue then went back to churn out fantastic club displays as Slaughtneil won a second Ulster crown in three years.Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO
  • 20. Kevin McManamon (Dublin – St Judes)
    The leading light for Dublin in their big August wins over Donegal and Kerry, McManamon’s displays may have dipped thereafter but he still produced a superb year. Helped steer St Judes to the Dublin semi-final.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • 21. Paul Murphy (Kerry – Rathmore)
    A terrific presence for Kerry throughout the league, he fired in a brilliant goal during the Munster final and then stifled the threat of Ciaran Kilkenny against Dublin.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

  • Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: James Crombie/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: James Crombie/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Lorraine O’Sullivan/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Lorcan Doherty” title=””>
  • Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO” title=””>
  • Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO” title=””>


The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!