Kerry’s Glenbeigh-Glencar and Cork hurling side Mayfield take home Munster junior titles

September 19, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Munster junior football final

Glenbeigh-Glencar (Kerry) 2-16

Gabriel Rangers (Cork) 0-10

A STRONG START paved the way for Glenbeigh-Glencar to make it nine wins in a row for Kerry sides in the Munster Club JFC as they saw off Gabriel Rangers at Mallow on Sunday.

Source: Tom ODonoghue

After 16 minutes, the Kingdom side – managed by Aidan O’Shea, son of Jack – were 0-6 to 0-2 in front and while Mark Cronin replied for Gabriels, Caolim Teahan’s goal, rounding off a great move, opened up a six-point lead.

Gavin O’Grady, who finished with seven points, extended that further with a wonderful score but Gabriels could have got back into the game when Eddie Goggin had a sight of goal but he shot wide.

While Seán Kelleher did get a point for the West Cork side, Glenbeigh-Glencar struck again, with O’Grady and Darran O’Sullivan combining to set up Kieran Courtney for the second goal.

Well done to @gbeighgcargaa
Munster Junior Club Football Champions 2016

— Kerry GAA (@Kerry_Official) December 4, 2016

Source: Kerry GAA/Twitter

Cronin’s point meant that it was 2-7 to 0-5 at half-time and Tommy Cahill and O’Grady (two) were on target in the early stages of the first half. The goal Gabriels needed to make a contest of it never looked like coming and Glenbeigh-Glencar kept the scoreboard ticking over to win by nine.

Scorers for Glenbeigh-Glencar: Gavan O’Grady 0-7 (0-1 free), Tommy Cahill 0-6 (0-4 frees), Caolim Teahan 1-1, Kieran Courtney 1-0, Pádraig Griffin, Bernard Murphy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Gabriel Rangers: Mark Cronin 0-6 (0-3 frees), Seán Kelleher 0-2 (frees), Gerard O’Callaghan, Chris Moynihan 0-1 each.


1. Rory O’Connor

2. Seán Roche
3. Jeremiah Hoare
4. Ciarán Doyle

5. Jack Brosnan
6. Pa Kilkenny
7. Stephen O’Sullivan

8. Colin McGillycuddy
9. Fergal Griffin

12. Tommy Cahill
11. Darran O’Sullivan
18. Caolim Teahan

13. Kieran Courtney
14. Gavan O’Grady
10. Danny O’Sullivan


15. Daniel Griffin for Brosnan (39)
24. Vincent Hoare for Roche (41)
17. Bernard Murphy for Danny O’Sullivan (50)
19. Pádraig Griffin for Darren O’Sullivan (53)
30. Donough McGillycuddy for Doyle (57, black card)
26. Calvin Teahan for Courtney (57)

Gabriel Rangers:

1. Darren O’Mahony

2. Kieran O’Callaghan
3. Cathal Newman
4. Jason Donegan

7. Liam Hegarty
6. Richard Moynihan
5. Gerard O’Callaghan

8. Donal O’Sullivan
9. Stephen O’Mahony

10. Fionn Hurley
11. Chris Moynihan
12. Eric O’Brien

13. Mark Cronin
14. Eddie Goggin
15. Seán Kelleher


17. Seán Evans for O’Brien (30)
19. Paudy Hegarty for O’Sullivan (38)
21. Ronan Roycroft for Liam Hegarty (42, black card)
20. David Roycroft for Donegan (58)
23. Wayne Cronin for Hurley (60)

Referee: Seán Lonergan (Tipperary)


Munster junior hurling final

Mayfield (Cork) 2-18

Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 3-10

TEN POINTS FROM Nicky Kelly were central to Mayfield’s victory over Ballyduff Lower in the Munster Club JHC final at Mallow on Sunday afternoon.

Source: Mayfield GAA Facebook

The Cork club led for almost all of this exciting encounter and had begun to pull away before Ballyduff sub Adam Carroll scored his side’s third goal at the death.

A strong finish to the first half put Mayfield in control. While two Brian Power frees had put Ballyduff 1-6 to 1-5 ahead by the 19th minute, Mayfield’s Shane Duggan netted following a scramble and five points – three from Kelly, with first goalscorer David O’Neill and Duggan also on target – were only answered by Declan Cheasty and Eoin Cummins.

AIB Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship Final Result – Mayfield (Cork) 2-18 Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 3-10

— Munster GAA (@MunsterGAA) December 4, 2016

Source: Munster GAA/Twitter


— Mayfield GAA (@MayfieldGAA) December 4, 2016

Source: Mayfield GAA/Twitter

That left them 2-10 to 1-8 ahead at the break and, while the second half wasn’t as high scoring, some inspired shooting from Kelly ensured that Ballyduff couldn’t claw their way back into contention.

With six minutes remaining, both sides were reduced to 14 men following a scuffle, with both dismissed players named Brian O’Leary. Jack Kennedy did give Ballyduff hope with a goal to make it 2-15 to 2-10, but two Kelly points sandwiched one from Patrick Duggan before Carroll’s late goal.

Scorers for Mayfield: Nicky Kelly 0-10 (0-6 frees), David O’Neill 1-4, Shane Duggan 1-2, Patrick Duggan, Kevin Punch 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballyduff Lower: Brian Power 0-5 (frees), Jack Kennedy 1-1, Jack Lyons, Adam Carroll 1-0 each, Calum Lyons, Cormac Dunphy, Declan Cheasty, Eoin Cummins 0-1 each.


1. Richard O’Keeffe

2. Kieran Brosnan
3. Dan Lucey
4. Brian O’Leary

5. Darren Hayes
6. Shane O’Donovan
7. Garry Lehane

8. Kevin Punch
9. Colm O’Sullivan

10. Shane Kelly
11. Nicky Kelly
12. David O’Neill

13. Shane Duggan
14. David Malone
15. Patrick Duggan


17. Kevin Walsh for Punch (58)

Ballyduff Lower:

1. Michael Atkins

2. Martin de Paor
3. John O’Leary
4. Marcus Millea

5. Bryan Power
6. Calum Lyons
7. Paul Kennedy

8. Colman Power
9. Brian Power

10. Cormac Dunphy
11. Jack Kennedy
12. Jack Lyons

13. Dylan Reade
14. Declan Cheasty
15. Eoin Cummins


17. Ross Coffey O’Shea for Cummins (40)
19. Brian O’Leary for Cheasty (51)
21. Adam Carroll for Lyons (60)

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Portugal soccer tracksuit