Limerick’s Hegarty amongst UL stars as they book Sigerson Cup semi-final with champions UCD

September 16, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

UL 0-10
Dublin IT 0-7

John Fallon reports from University of Limerick

UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK recovered from a sluggish start this afternoon  to book their place in the semi-finals of the Sigerson Cup and set up a clash against champions UCD.

The DIT challenge faded badly after they opened up a 0-6 to 0-2 lead when playing against the diagonal wind in the opening half at University of Limerick.

DIT only managed a pointed free in the second-half as UL, who missed three decent goal chances before the break, came good to reach the last four for the second season in a row.

It didn’t look good for them when a couple of frees from Liam Irwin and efforts from play Ciaran Thompson and Glenn O’Reilly helped the Dublin college lead by 0-6 to 0-2 after 20 minutes.

Remarkably, DIT only managed one more point after that, their cause undermined by five second-half wides.

UL recovered before the interval with Brendan O’Keeffe, Niall McDemott, man-of-the-match Gearoid Hegarty and Shane Ryan finding the target to leave them tied at 0-6 apiece when they turned around.

Mayo’s Irwin pointed a free inside a minute of the restart but that turned out to be DIT’s final score.

Mayo’s Liam Irwin was in action for Dublin IT today.

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Hegarty was to the fore as UL took over, with McDermott equalising and then Fergal Boland, Hegarty and Michael Geaney secured the points which sent them through.

DIT came looking for a late goal to salvage their 2017 Sigerson Cup campaign but never looked like getting it as UL closed out the game to book their semi-final spot.

Fergal Boland part of today’s victorious UL side

Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

Scorers for UL: Brendan O’Keeffe (0-2f), Niall McDermott (0-2f), Fergal Boland, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2 each, Michael Geaney, Shane Ryan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin IT: Liam Irwin 0-3 (0-3f), Ciaran Thompson, Glenn O’Reilly, Conor Madden , Killian O’Gara 0-1 each.


1. Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven, Cork)

2. Cathal Ó Luing (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry)
3. John Mullins (Éire Óg, Cork)
4. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla, Kerry)

5. Paul White (Rathkeale, Limerick)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary)
7. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare, Clare)

8. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick)
9. Cian Sheehan (Newcastlewest, Limerick)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore, Mayo)
11. Michael Geaney (Dingle, Kerry)
12. Brendan O’Keeffe (Rathmore, Kerry)

13. Shane Ryan (Rathmore, Kerry)
14. Denis Daly (St Mary’s, Kerry)
15. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh, Cavan)


19. Shane Courtney (Glenflesk, Kerry) for Brosnan (27)
25. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora, Clare) for Ryan (57)
23. James Naughton (St Senan’s, Limerick) for McDermott (60)

Dublin IT

1. Lorcan Molloy (St Anne’s, Dublin)

2. Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Dublin)
3. Conor McGill (Ratoath, Meath)
4. Liam Hughes (Longford)

7. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna, Dublin)
6. Aran Waters (Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Dublin)
10. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan, Cavan)

8. Thomas Corcoran (Strokestown, Roscommon)
11. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy, Mayo)

12. Con Kavanagh (Sarsfields, Kildare)
9. Ciaran Thompson (Naomh Conail, Donegal)
5. Graham Guilfoyle (Clara, Offaly)

14. Liam Irwin (Breaffy, Mayo)
13. Conor Madden (Gowna, Cavan)
15. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge-Street, Dublin)


20. David McAllister (Emyvale, Monaghan) for Madden (40 mins)
23. Ruairi Scott (St Enda’s, Antrim) for Thompson (58, black card)

Referee: James Molloy (Galway)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Ferrari Racing Suit