Louth book first O’Byrne Cup final in six years with win over 14-man Meath

September 17, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Louth 1-14
Meath 0-10

LOUTH SECURED THEIR first O’Byrne Cup final appearance since 2011 with a comfortable seven point win over 14-man Meath in Navan.

As their reward for dumping out the O’Byrne Cup holders, the Wee County will play All-Ireland champions Dublin in the final of the pre-season competition.

Meath’s Alan Forde was dismissed for his role in a first-half melee and Louth made the extra man count as they deservedly led by 0-6 to 0-4 at the break.

Derek Maguire (0-3) and Andy McDonnell (0-2) were instrumental as Louth held onto that lead and Jim McEneaney rounded off the win in style.

Joe Sheridan, the man who scored that goal against Louth in the 2010 Leinster final, replaced the black-carded Jack Hannigan between the posts for McEneaney’s 68th penalty, but he was unable to save the strike.


J. Hannigan

D. McQuillan
D. Keogan
S. Curran

S. Lavin
B. Power
A. Forde

B. Menton
C. O’Brien

R Ó Coiléain
G. Reilly (c)
E. Wallace

K. Ross
P. Kennelly
S. Tobin

Subs: C. McGill for S. Curran (34); C. Downey for S. Lavin (39); C. O’Sullivan for S. Tobin, B. McMahon for K. Ross (both 41); S. McEntee for R. Ó Coileáin (black, 60); D. Lenihan for E. Wallace (64); J. Sheridan for J. Hannigan (black, 68).

Sent off: A. Forde (straight, 23).


C. Lynch

P. Rath
P. Reilly
K. Carr

D. Maguire
L. Dullaghan
A. Williams

T. Durnin
A. McDonnell

D. Byrne
P. Smith
B. Duffy

C. McKeever
R. Carroll
G. McSorley


J. McEneaney for R. Carroll (32)
S. Mulroy for G. McSorley (39)
J. Bingham for P. Reilly (51)
A. Reid for C. McKeever (60)
J. Stewart for L. Dullaghan (64)
R. Nally for P. Smith (69)
J. Califf for T. Durnin (70+1).

Referee: D. Moore (Laois).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: samoa rugby shirts