Powerful second-half helps Davy’s Limerick IT see off UCD and set up semi-final with the champions

September 16, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Limerick IT 1-20
UCD 1-13

Jackie Cahill reports from Limerick IT

DAVY FITZGERALD’S LIMERICK IT produced a powerful second half display to see off UCD by seven points in this afternoon’s Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final.

LIT’s David Reidy with Darragh Nolan and Jack O’Connor of UCD.

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Trailing by three points at half-time on home soil, LIT then outscored UCD by 1-11 to 0-4 in the second period to set up a Limerick derby semi-final showdown with holders Mary Immaculate College.

Jason McCarthy’s last-minute goal added gloss to the final scoreline as LIT, playing with a breeze in the second half, upped the ante.

Galway’s Paul Killeen collected seven points (six frees) for the winners as Waterford’s DJ Foran hit five points for UCD, four of those from placed balls.

LIT were impressive in the second half but they will have to improve considerably against Mary I, in what will be a repeat of the 2016 semi-final meeting between the sides.

But Fitzgerald’s charges did what they had to do, reeling in UCD after falling 0-9 to 1-9 down at the break.

LIT manager Davy Fitzgerald

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

LIT did move into an early 0-3 to 0-1 lead but Kilkenny’s Luke Scanlon pounced on Oisin O’Rorke’s ’65 in the sixth minute to touch home a poacher’s goal.

But in what was very much a nip-and-tuck opening half, the sides were level five times before UCD put some daylight between themselves and the hosts approaching the interval.

Four unanswered points had Nicky English’s side nursing a three-point half-time advantage as Darragh Dolan, Tadhg de Búrca (free), James Madden and O’Rorke all registered scores.

Tadhg de Búrca rises high for UCD in the Fitzgibbon Cup today

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

But the general feeling was that LIT would improve considerably in the second half and that’s how it transpired. They got level at 0-14 to 1-11 when Barry O’Connell pointed and three further points followed from LIT as they hit five without reply, coming from 0-12 to 1-11 behind to establish a 0-17 to 1-11 lead.

O’Rorke reduced the UCD deficit to two points with a free but LIT hit three-in-a-row to move five clear. Then O’Rorke landed another free but LIT had the final say as David Dempsey’s industry and offload was rewarded by McCarthy’s low finish.

Disappointment today for UCD boss Nicky English

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Scorers for LIT: Paul Killeen 0-7 (0-6f), Jason McCarthy 1-3, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (0-1f), Shane Bennett (0-1f) & David Dempsey 0-2 each, Barry O’Connell, Peter Duggan & Willie Connors 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: DJ Foran 0-5 (0-4f), Luke Scanlon 1-0, Oisin O’Rorke 0-3 (0-2f), Darragh Dolan 0-2, James Madden, Tadhg de Búrca (0-f) & James Maher 0-1 each.


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle, Clare)

20. Oisin O’Brien (Clonlara, Clare)
3. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford)
4. Cian Nolan (Smith O’Brien’s, Clare)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Willie Ryan (Clonakenny, Tipperary)
6. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry, Limerick)
7. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick)

8. David Reidy (Éire Óg, Clare)
26. Willie Connors (Kiladangan, Tipperary)

10. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford)
11. Paul Killeen (Tynagh Abbey-Duniry, Galway)
12. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare)

13. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
14. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin, Clare)
15. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)


2. Ciaran Cooney (O’Callaghan Mills, Clare) for O’Connell (53)


1. Darragh Holohan (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

2. Eddie Hayden (Ballygunner, Waterford)
3. Paddy Hannon (Athenry, Galway)
11. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s Wexford)

5. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny)
6. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg, Waterford)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

8. Cian MacGabhann (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
9. Darragh Dolan (Cappataggle, Galway)

10. James Maher (St Lachtain’s, Kilkenny)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Dublin)
12. Padraic Guinan (Drumcullen, Offaly)

13. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
14. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens, Kilkenny)
15. DJ Foran (Portlaw, Waterford)


22. Rory Dwan (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary) for Madden (52)
18. Brian Quigley (Rathnure, Wexford) for O’Connor (52)
24. Cathal Keane (Athenry, Galway) for Guinan (52)
21. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary) for Maher (57)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Germany National Team soccer tracksuit